Academic Common Market Waiver

Program Purpose

To allow Texas residents to pay resident tuition rates if their graduate program of study is not already offered at a Texas public institution.

Eligibility Requirements

Students who:

  • Are accepted for admission or enrolled in master's or doctoral degree programs for which Texas has gained access through the Academic Common Market; and
  • Are residents of Texas.

Students must complete a residency questionnaire, have it notarized, and return it to the office of the Texas ACM coordinator. A copy of the notice of admission from the college or university must accompany the form.

Eligible Institutions

Must be a public (state-supported) college or university in a state approved to participate in the Academic Common Market coordinated by the Southern Regional Education Board. Currently, the following southern states participate in the ACM:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Delaware
  • Florida*
  • Georgia
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Mississippi
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas*
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia.

*Florida and Texas participate at the graduate level only. Independent (private) colleges and universities are not eligible to participate in the ACM.

Application Process

Contact the Texas ACM Coordinator, Jessica Acton at 512-427-6214 or via email at

Additional Information

Copyright © 2022 Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board. All Rights Reserved

Site Policies | Site Map | Contact



Generation Texas

I am strong. I am independent. I am ready for my career. I support my family. I want to go to college. I am a leader of tomorrow. I am Generation TX. Learn more at


Apply Texas

I am ready to start my college journey, now what? ApplyTexas is a one-stop shop for applying to a public university or community college in Texas. Start now at You can find information about funding your education here: College for All Texans Funding Your Education.