To provide a reduced tuition rate for individuals who are residents of states other than Texas who enroll in certain public universities in Texas.
NOTE: This webpage is intended to provide basic information for the public by highlighting requirements that appear in the Texas Education Code (TEC) and Texas Administrative Code (TAC). When reviewing eligibility requirements this exemption program, you should always refer to the relevant statutes and rules. The information on this webpage is to be used solely as a resource and does not override the statute or rules for this exemption program. It is not intended as, and does not constitute, legal advice.
Students who are residents of states other than Texas must enroll in a Texas public university located within 100 miles of the Texas border. The institution must have been approved by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board to offer the lowered tuition rate.
Contact the registrar's office of the public university you plan to attend. They will be able to advise you of their eligibility.
Award amount varies by institution. Eligible students are allowed to pay a lowered non-resident tuition rate. The rate must be at least $30 more per hour more than the resident rate. Each institution sets its own rate.
The process for applying for a tuition waiver varies from college to college. Normally, the office of the registrar processes tuition waivers. The student must be able to provide the college or university with proof that he/she meets the program eligibility requirements.
Generally, student eligibility for a waiver must be established prior to or at the time of enrollment. Contact your college for additional information.
- To read more about this program check out:
Texas Education Code, §54.0601 and Coordinating Board Rule, Chapter 21, Subchapter B, Section 29 (Pertaining to Exceptions)
- Contact Us!