NOTICE: Funding for the program ended Aug. 31, 2011. However, public institutions of higher education may still grant the tuition and fees exemption, at their own expense, pursuant to the eligibility requirements of Texas Education Code (TEC) 54.363.
Eligibility award letters:
Recipients of an Educational Aide (EA) tuition exemption are eligible to apply for an exemption from student teaching. An eligibility award letter must be submitted to the Teacher Education Certification Department at the institution for consideration and approval. To obtain a copy of your eligibility award letter, contact:
To address its growing need for more qualified teachers, the State of Texas created a program that covers tuition and some fees for education aides who enroll in college to become certified Texas teachers. The exemption may only be used at public colleges or universities in Texas.
To apply for an Education Aide Exemption (EAE), you must:
Be a Texas resident.
Have applied for financial aid to the college you plan to attend, including filing the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or by qualifying on the basis of adjusted gross income (AGI). The institution will determine whether or not the AGI method will be accepted. AGI limits effective September 1, 2013 are:
- Single independent student - $33,771 or less.
- Married independent student - $67,545 or less.
- Dependent student - $67,545 or less including student and family AGI.
Have been employed as a full-time educational aide for at least one of the past five school years, or as a substitute teacher for 180 days of the past five school years preceding the term or semester for which the student is awarded his or her initial exemption.
Be employed in some capacity by a school district in Texas during the full term for which the student receives the award unless granted a hardship waiver as described in Section 21.1089 of program rules which can be accessed through the link given below.
Enroll in courses leading to teacher certification.
Register for the Selective Service or be exempt from this requirement.
Meet academic requirements established by the college or university.
The school district where you are employed and the financial aid office at your school determine your eligibility for this program.
New Requirements Fall, 2014
Senate Bill 1210 (83rd Texas Legislature, Regular Session) adds a Grade Point Average requirement for persons to receive continuation awards through the program. The Bill also establishes a Limit to the Total Number of Hours, cumulative, that a student may take and continue to receive awards through this program. These changes go into effect in fall, 2014. Contact your institution for more information.
Complete the admissions and financial aid process at your college, including the FAFSA.
Obtain an EAE application from your college or university. Please read the EAE instructions (included as a separate worksheet within the application) before completing the application.
Complete Part I of the EAE Application and give it to a school or school district official.
The official completes Part II of the EAE application and sends it to the Director of Financial Aid of the college you will attend.
The Financial Aid Office completes Part III, selects recipients, and announces awards for the fall term.
Please check with your college or university for EAE program application deadlines.
Please contact the school district where you are employed or the Financial Aid Office at the college or university you plan to attend.
You may view the Frequently Asked Questions.
You may view the relevant Coordinating Board Rules Chapter 21, Subchapter II .
The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board also provides a list of Texas public institutions**.
For more information on certification, visit the Texas Education Agency.
For help finding a teaching position, visit the Texas Workforce Commission website.
**Note: The schools listed under Independent Institutions do NOT qualify for Educational Aide Exemptions
- To read more about this program check out:
- Contact Us!