Sections 56.011 and 56.012 of the Texas Education Code require institutions to set aside at least 15 percent of tuition charged to a resident undergraduate or graduate student that exceeds $46 per semester credit hour, to provide financial assistance to its students.
NOTE: This webpage is intended to provide basic information for the public by highlighting requirements that appear in the Texas Education Code (TEC) and Texas Administrative Code (TAC). When reviewing eligibility requirements this exemption program, you should always refer to the relevant statutes and rules. The information on this webpage is to be used solely as a resource and does not override the statute or rules for this exemption program. It is not intended as, and does not constitute, legal advice.
To qualify, Texas resident undergraduate or graduate students must demonstrate financial need and their tuition costs may not be met through other non-loan financial assistance programs. Each institution that sets aside these funds determines which students will receive awards, as part of the overall financial aid packaging strategy that best meets the needs of the institution’s students. Grants and scholarships funded by designated tuition set-asides are considered institutional funds.
- The set aside does not affect financial aid awards, if any, nor does it guarantee that a student will personally receive financial aid assistance.
- To apply for these need-based funds, students must submit the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or the Texas Application for State Financial Aid (TASFA) form. Financial assistance eligibility is determined by the information provided on the form.
- Contact the financial aid office at your college or university for additional information.